where is the swac championship game

where is the swac championship game

The SWAC Championship Game

The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Championship Game is the annual championship game of the Southwestern Athletic Conference in American college football. It matches the winners of the conference’s two divisions, East and West.


The game has been played every year since 1999. The game usually takes place around mid-December and is hosted by the division winner with the highest SWAC win percentage. However, it has occasionally been held at other neutral sites, such as:

  • Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas (2000)
  • Birmingham, Alabama (2001 and 2011)
  • Little Rock, Arkansas (2008)

Past Champions

The past Champions of the SWAC Championship Game are:

  • Alabama A&M (1999, 2011)
  • Alabama State (2000, 2004, 2010)
  • Grambling State (2001, 2007)
  • Southern (2002, 2003, 2006, 2017)
  • Prairie View A&M (2005, 2008, 2019)
  • Jackson State (2009, 2013)
  • Arkansas-Pine Bluff (2012, 2018)
  • Alcorn State (2014, 2015, 2016)

This year’s SWAC Championship game is scheduled to be held at Southern University’s A.W. Mumford Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana, on December 12, 2020.



Search Here

Let’s Connect

Most Popular

Related Posts